Wet dreams.

Writing and me.
2 min readJul 31, 2023

--

Interesting thought, yea?

Most people say that self love without self awareness is useless. They tell you to analyze and critique the way you think and act even as you love yourself; and they call it accountability. I say, donā€™t take the accountability bit too far. That stand point where you are- from where you are accepting feedback because you are aware that you are teachable or because you actually believe in practicing what you preach- that stand point is where the disrespect that you ignore or become blind to in the process will come and meet you and crumble youšŸ˜‚ or just splash some mud on your white.

Donā€™t mix it up though. I am a preacher of accountability. I donā€™t think any serious person can do without it. BUT while you critique your steps, donā€™t forget to be on the look out for things and people that legit disrespect you (Iā€™m saying ā€œlegitā€ because when you now become hyper aware of and hyper sensitive to disrespect or any situation where it could arise, you might be seeing false positives too). See ehn, I know how this just made you feelšŸ˜‚ like you canā€™t win with adulting abi? šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚ Bruh.

I think it gets easier sha. Practice might not make perfect but it definitely makes progress.

Accountability is great but July taught me that it is a slippery slope. Walai talai, I never would have thought about this if I didnā€™t get to experience what July brought along. And Iā€™m so glad about itšŸ˜‚

Adulting is so layered and like every other amazing human concept, it can be mastered with the right kind of knowledge and the appropriate species of practice. Of course, no one size fits all šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚ mbanu! That would defeat the purpose of it all now, wouldnā€™t it? šŸ˜…

I had an awesome awesome July. I hope you did too and I hope that August knocks it out of the park.

What did July teach you? Leave me a commentā€¦and some claps (you know the whole drill). You know I do a little dance when you do.

For my non-Nigerian readers, splashing mud on someoneā€™s white is a way of taking your bullshit to their zen place; and ā€œMbanuā€ is the Igbo translation for ā€œNoā€. Also, ā€œwalai talaiā€ is an exaggerated way of saying ā€œto be honestā€. Itā€™s kind of like saying ā€œto be very fucking honestā€ šŸ¤£šŸ¤£

Donā€™t forget to tell me what July taught youā€¦šŸ‘‡

XO!!!

--

--